Student-athletes honored during fall sports banquet at Robert F. Munroe

-A A +A
By The Staff

The annual fall sports banquet at Robert F. Munroe Day School was held Dec. 11.

The three sports recognized for awards were golf, football and volleyball. The coaches of the varsity teams each spoke during the presentations about the season highlights.

Golf coach was Kevin Smith, and the football coach was RFM alumnus Adam Reep. The volleyball coach was Makini Thompson.

The trophies received from Thompson included the Coach’s Award, presented to Adrianne Woodward, and the Most Improved Player Award, given to Courtney Mayo. Ivie Thomas, senior player, was named Most Outstanding Player.

The football awards were given to Cody Watson for Most Valuable Player and Matt Carter, who was named Lineman of the Year. Most Improved Player was Fletcher Vaughn.

Harry Claiborne and Trey Pack each received awards named for former RFM players. The Ben McPherson Award went to Claiborne, and the Trey Youngblood Award was given to Pack. John Hilton Revell received the coveted Coach’s Award.

The Senior Captain’s Award in cheerleading was given to Sidney Johnson by coaches Brooke Thomas and Lauren Ventry.

Golf trophies were given to six-year starter John Hilton Revell, and five-year starter Sam Young. The Most Improved Player Award was given to Josh McLendon. John Hilton was also recognized for most birdies (17) and the lowest average (40).

Sam Young was also recognized for the longest drive.