RFM graduates honored for academics, volunteerism

-A A +A
By Alice Du Pont

This year’s graduates at Robert F. Munroe Day School were sure of two things: they had received a good education and a solid moral background.

"We are ready to face the world because of the sound and secure environment we had here at Robert F. Munroe. Many opportunities and paths exist for each of us but we will not be traveling alone, we will carry all of you in our hearts and in our thoughts. Let the next phase begin," said class salutatorian Anna Margaret Dooner.

Robert Edgar Oakley, valedictorian, called last Friday night's graduation ceremony the "first of many forks" students must face and will have to decide which path to take. No matter which path those select, Oakley said, students should choose a career that they love.

"This is the end of an era and on the other hand this is a happy occasion as we travel down new roads," he said.

By the end of the evening, about half of the 29 graduates had received over $72,000 in scholarship awards with another $262,000 in renewable scholarships. Oakley received the President's Award scholarship to the University of West Florida at Pensacola. Dooner was awarded a Florida Bright Futures Scholarship and plans to attend the University of Florida in the fall. Fifteen of the 29 graduating seniors also earned their associate of arts degrees from Tallahassee Community College because they successfully completed the dual enrollment program. They are: Amy Allen, Harry Claiborne, Elizabeth Clark, Anna Dooner, George Fullerton, David Iglesias, sarah Johnson, Jonni Mitchell, Robert Oakley, Joyce Padgett, John Revell, Carrie Scott, Margaret Summerford, Ivie Thomas and Joseph Wilkerson.

Students were also honored for their volunteerism. Senior members of the school's Anchor Club logged 1,145 hours of community service this year. Courtney Wilder was awarded the Pilot Club of Quincy Scholarship after she logged more than 200 community service hours.

John Pat Thomas, president of the Munroe school board, honored over 30 employes, past and present, for more than 884 years combined years of service to the school. Honorees ranged from teachers to bus drivers.